Hmmm Chicken and root veggies in the fridge. Sounds like Chicken Soup to me.

With a side of almond flour biscuits! (We like to put the biscuits in the soup, kind of like dumplings.)

I have really been into slow cooker recipes but as 4pm approached yesterday, it was way to late to start anything like that. I was heading to go somewhere at 6pm so I checked the fridge. We had cooked chicken breast, carrots, onions, celery…so I made a quick chicken soup. It was delicious.

Ingredients:

1lb baked boneless skinless chicken breast( I bake ours in foil with a drizzle of olive or grape-seed oil and salt and pepper)

1 large carrot or 2 smaller ones, sliced very thin or shredded

1 stalk celery, chopped

1/2 sweet or white onion, chopped

1/2 tsp gluten-free poultry seasoning

1 32 fl oz box organic free range chicken broth

Cut the cooked chicken breast into bite sized pieces.

Add the chopped onion to a stock pot over medium heat and cook for 2 minutes.

Add the cut up chicken to the stock pot. Stir and keep over low heat for about a minute.

Add the chicken broth, carrots and celery and then the seasoning.

Simmer for 15 min on low.

Serve with Almond Flour Biscuits.

About christybutch

Hi! I am Christy Butch. Married to Garrett Butch and the mother of two boys, Collin and Ryan. I am the Co-Founder of Maximum Potential, a company that teaches people how to work with autistic children. I am also a Strength Coach CF-L1 Instructor and Olympic Lift Coach as well as Nutrition Certified. This blog is about the journey to drastically change my families diet to better our immediate and long term health. I am excited to see what lies in store for us, especially my 7 year old who is autistic.We are now following a diet of meat.vegetables.nuts,seeds,little starch and little sugar.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hmmm Chicken and root veggies in the fridge. Sounds like Chicken Soup to me.

  1. CaraB says:

    Yummy, I love the touch of almond flour biscuits. is that recipe on your blog?

Leave a Reply

