“No grains, no dairy, what do your kids eat?”

The thought of removing so many things from a diet can leave people wondering what our kids eats. No bread, no peanut butter, popcorn, chips, cereal, pop tarts, snack bars, goldfish, ritz crackers, milk, pasta,cheese and the list goes on. I always tell people, you have to think about all the things you can have and not focus on what you “can’t”.

Now this diet that my family adopted in November 2009 may not have been quite as tough on us because my son Collin has been gluten free since age 20 months. Neither one of my boys has ever drank cow’s milk and Collin has also been casein free since 20 months. We adopted a GFCF diet for Collin when he was diagnosed with autism 6 years ago. Ryan has never tolerated dairy so we just removed it all together.

There are so many gluten free products on the market and I have learned to make so many gluten free and even grain free goodies that we are all pretty happy with what we have  available to us now.

Here are  pictures of a typical snack my boys have. (They love divided snack trays.)

Collin’s after school snack consisted of coconut milk yogurt, cut organic strawberries, Paleo Brands beef jerky and a handful of cashews. He also drank almond milk and some water

Here is Ryan (age 4) with a similar snack of beef jerky, a pickle, strawberries, watermelon and cashews.

I feel like my boys say “Mommy I’m hungry EVERY 5 MINUTES” but I am happy with what they eat!

Our kids are NEVER sick. Until two weeks ago Ryan had never been sick on antibiotics, never had an ear infection or sinus infection, colds ect.(He did have scarlet fever 2 weeks ago but was sick for about a day). Collin has pretty much the same record of health. I feel sure the no gluten and no dairy diet have contributed to their excellent health.

I must say that kids are amazing. They really adjust quickly to whatever adjustments we make. Even my son with autism who can have such a difficult time with change and transition adjusts pretty quickly to the changes I make in our life. Initially there was a small uprising when all the potato chips, corn chips, popcorn and peanut butter disappeared but it only lasted a few days. He never asks for those things now unless he sees them in a store sometimes and I just tell him we don’t eat that anymore and I list some of the things he can have. He is always fine with that.

About christybutch

Hi! I am Christy Butch. Married to Garrett Butch and the mother of two boys, Collin and Ryan. I am the Co-Founder of Maximum Potential, a company that teaches people how to work with autistic children. I am also a Strength Coach CF-L1 Instructor and Olympic Lift Coach as well as Nutrition Certified. This blog is about the journey to drastically change my families diet to better our immediate and long term health. I am excited to see what lies in store for us, especially my 7 year old who is autistic.We are now following a diet of meat.vegetables.nuts,seeds,little starch and little sugar.
This entry was posted in Kid Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “No grains, no dairy, what do your kids eat?”

  1. Pingback: CrossFit Draper - Forging Elite Fitness. Call 801-971-7020

Leave a Reply

