Plantains!!!!

So I was looking for a “chip” to dip in guacamole…aka “wacamole “in our house due to it being my 3 year olds favorite snack. I had picked up some chips at Trader Joes that were plantain chips. They were crunchy and salty and delicious but cooked in vegetable oil. So I thought I would make them myself but use my usual coconut oil that I fry things in. So I bought a plantain and sliced it a couple days later on my mandolin and deep fryed them in the Spectum Organic Coconut Oil that I love. They did not come out as chips BUT as an amazing side. I ended up with plantanos maduros (Cuban sweet plantains).Very easy to make! YYYUUUMMM!

I am going to try to make the crispy ones this week-end. I am going to use a green, non-ripe plantain and see what happens. I may fry them longer (I only did it for 3 minutes) and then add celtic sea salt.

About christybutch

Hi! I am Christy Butch. Married to Garrett Butch and the mother of two boys, Collin and Ryan. I am the Co-Founder of Maximum Potential, a company that teaches people how to work with autistic children. I am also a Strength Coach CF-L1 Instructor and Olympic Lift Coach as well as Nutrition Certified. This blog is about the journey to drastically change my families diet to better our immediate and long term health. I am excited to see what lies in store for us, especially my 7 year old who is autistic.We are now following a diet of meat.vegetables.nuts,seeds,little starch and little sugar.
This entry was posted in Fruit, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Plantains!!!!

  1. chickiepea says:

    How do you clean your oil in between uses? My DH and I were thinking of frying in coconut oil in the deep fryer, but wondered how it stores or how/if we need to clean it when using it for veggies….

    Thanks!
    http://www.chickiepea.wordpress.com

  2. Christy says:

    Hey,

    I use a deep fryer and mainly fry veggies in it. I will use it for potatoes or sweet potatoes for fries for the kids and afterwards it solidifies back to a white color. It stores on the counter at room temperature just fine for me. Once it starts to darken or not look as pure (maybe after 2 or 3 uses) I heat is up and carefully pour in back into a glass jar and let it solidify again then toss it out.

    Some times the oil can be used longer than others. One night we fried zucchini after breading it in almond flour and it left the oil a mess so I did not use it again.

    I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

