My new favorite food….brussels sprouts

Brussels sprouts are not a vegetable I have ever been fond of….or at least I thought. It is funny because when I was getting nutrition certified Robb Wolf said that we would learn to LOVE “the sprouts”. He was right. It has gotten to the point where I crave them. Garrett likes them as well. The kids….not so much..yet! My sister in law made them twice in NY over the Holidays and they were delicious. I never know her recipe but I put something together that is similar and we like a lot. I clean, wash and trim the sprouts. Then I put them in baking dish with a little water and bake on 350 degrees for about 10 or 15 minuted to soften them up. I then pan fry 2 strips of bacon. I put the brussels sprouts in the bacon grease in the saute pan and cook for 10 to 15 minutes. I added Organic Ume Plum Vinegar(i wanted to add apple cider vinegar but I was out) and some sea salt and pepper. I sautéed them in that pan for a few more minutes and then served with some crispy bacon crumbles over top. They are great left over too. I am going to look for some more recipes for this delicious vegetable but I am really happy with how this turned out.

About christybutch

Hi! I am Christy Butch. Married to Garrett Butch and the mother of two boys, Collin and Ryan. I am the Co-Founder of Maximum Potential, a company that teaches people how to work with autistic children. I am also a Strength Coach CF-L1 Instructor and Olympic Lift Coach as well as Nutrition Certified. This blog is about the journey to drastically change my families diet to better our immediate and long term health. I am excited to see what lies in store for us, especially my 7 year old who is autistic.We are now following a diet of meat.vegetables.nuts,seeds,little starch and little sugar.
This entry was posted in Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My new favorite food….brussels sprouts

  1. Kevin says:

    Yes! Brussels sprouts are very lovely. I like to bake them coated in coconut oil and sprinkled with generous heling of curry powder for curried brussels sprouts. I love the blog by the way, cheers!

  2. christybutch says:

    Yum! Will try that next.Thanks!!!

  3. Shannon says:

    I, too, have finally found a love for brussels sprouts. I roast them in the oven (or on the stove) with lard, ghee or, another high-heat cooking oil. Yum!

  4. Amy Butch says:

    Hey Christy! Jen’s sprouts were really good! Your recipe sounds like another great version! When I make them at home, I slice them in half (already steamed),drizzle a little olive oil over them to lightly coat, and place them on a cookie sheet lightly coated with cooking spray or olive oil. Then I roast them in the oven until the undersides are slightly browned, (about 20 minutes.) Sprinkle with a little salt and pepper. They end up with a really nice almost nutty flavor; not at all bitter like sprouts can sometimes turn out. I love just popping them in my mouth like a little healthy bon-bon! I haven’t tried them with the bacon yet; that’ll be next.

Leave a Reply

