Traveling…and sticking with our diet!!!

So we had an excellent Paleo Thanksgiving and are really enjoying and doing well at our new grain free dairy free diet so…..I was not going to let one little trip mess us up. It does take some prep work, and we are driving on this trip so I was able to prepare lots of food to bring. I really didn’t mind at all. I did most of it Thursday and Friday early morning and we were able to leave by 10am. We are headed to Great Wolf Lodge indoor water park to meet my brother and his family for some fun this week-end. The boys are tremendously excited and we are too.

I planned a menu to have all breakfasts, lunches and plenty of snacks on hand for Friday, Saturday and Sunday. We will probably leave the lodge in the evening and go meet my Dad and my Aunt who are near by this NC Wolf Lodge. I am requestiong a steakhouse and one that promotes gluten free like Outback. Collin HAS TO EAT GLUTEN FREE no matter what. Other options may be five guys (gluten free with no buns) and or PF Changs. In any event I do not want to take in any grains or dairy during this trip. The way we have been eating is making us feel better and better.Here is a list of what I prepared.

Spinach,Sun-dried tomato and spicy turkey sausage tart (from Elana’s cook book)

2 packs of nitrate free organic bacon (trader Joe’s)

Bark ( a candy type dish using dark 85% chocolate and roasted and salted nuts) Gotta have some road trip junk!

Breakfast Bars (from Elana’s Pantry website http://www.elanaspantry.com)

A tub of fresh mixed veggies like broccoli, carrots,sweet peppers ect. w/cumin dip. Yum in the car!!!!

Paleo Pancakes

Applegate Farms Sun-dried tomato spicy sausage (organic and nitrate free)

Almond milk (chocolate and vanilla)

Gluten free chocolate chip cookies for the boys

Apples,oranges,bababas,grapes

Chocolate Chip Scones from Elana’s Pantry (There is a Duncan Donuts in this place so this will be a good replacement)

raisins, craisins,nuts,natural fruit sticks

AND red wine and Gluten Free Beer from Red Bridge!

About christybutch

Hi! I am Christy Butch. Married to Garrett Butch and the mother of two boys, Collin and Ryan. I am the Co-Founder of Maximum Potential, a company that teaches people how to work with autistic children. I am also a Strength Coach CF-L1 Instructor and Olympic Lift Coach as well as Nutrition Certified. This blog is about the journey to drastically change my families diet to better our immediate and long term health. I am excited to see what lies in store for us, especially my 7 year old who is autistic.We are now following a diet of meat.vegetables.nuts,seeds,little starch and little sugar.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

