Fish Oil

Upon watching several seminar clips of Dr. Barry Sears I was convinced my family needed a large consumption of Fish Oil and Omega 3’s added to our diet. When Collin was first diagnosed with autism we used to put the liquid form in his drink. We saw good results from this and then as he grew older he would not tolerate it any more. He was too young to swallow pills so we stopped. We have spent quite a bit of money the past few months trying different fish oil and Omega 3 supplements for the boys (Collin age 7 and autistic and Ryan age 3 and typical). I FINALLY FOUND ONE  they will consume. After completeing my Nutrition Certification by Robb Wolf and CrossFit I understood the LARGE AMOUNT that was needed in our diets. I started dosing Garrett (my husband) and I in the same manner. Anyway, the best supplement I found for the kids is the Trader Joe’s Sea Gummies OMEGA-3 with DHA.(200mg)

Garrett and I are taking the Trader Joe’s Omega 3 Fatty Acids with 1200 MG Fish Oil. According to Robb Wolf you need to consume .5 grams per 10 pounds of body weight if your healthy and 1.0 grams per 10 pounds of body weight if your body is sick or overweight. We have been following these guidelines in our house and it is only adding to the good things we are seeing in Collin and ourselves. There are many stories about people overcoming obesity ( Manuel Uribe, world’s largest man), ADHD, allergies ect… due to the added consumption of fish oil. People used to have a healthy rate of Omega 3’s to Omega 6’s but now the rate is extremly unhealthy and we are eating at about at 1:20 ratio of Omega 3’s to Omega 6’s. Omega 6’s are the ones that PROMOTE inflammation. When our grandparents gave our parents a teaspoon of Cod Liver Oil daily, it was one of the best things they could have done for our parents. That practice has seemed to come to a halt and our ingestion of Omega 6’s in our current society now is through the roof! Another good place to get your Omega 3’s is buy purchasing Omega 3 eggs. I highly recommend starting to add fish oil to your daily diet to help with current inflammation and/or disease as well as for long term health.

About christybutch

Hi! I am Christy Butch. Married to Garrett Butch and the mother of two boys, Collin and Ryan. I am the Co-Founder of Maximum Potential, a company that teaches people how to work with autistic children. I am also a Strength Coach CF-L1 Instructor and Olympic Lift Coach as well as Nutrition Certified. This blog is about the journey to drastically change my families diet to better our immediate and long term health. I am excited to see what lies in store for us, especially my 7 year old who is autistic.We are now following a diet of meat.vegetables.nuts,seeds,little starch and little sugar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

