Successful Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving was delicious. We ate a totally grain free, gluten free,dairy free meal. Since we decided to start eating this way a couple of weeks ago I wanted to really be successful at it by even doing it at THANKSGIVING! My husband and my mother were totally on board so I made up the menu listed in the post below. My  favorite things were the cranberry nut bread (Ryan,age 3, loved this bread), the chocolate pie( thanks to Elan’s Pantry website) and the sweet potato apple bake which was kind if made up.Our menu was incredibly different from years past at our home or at relatives. We were used to having stuffing, rolls with butter, mac and cheese, desserts galore!!!! This was a big step for us to change one of the biggest meals of the year to a Paleo type dinner. I wanted to do this diet 100% so I knew if we could do it on Thanksgiving and everyone be happy, we could continue to do this in every situation.

Gluten Free and Dairy Free Cranberry Nut Bread
½ cup coconut flour
1 teaspoon celtic sea salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
5 eggs
½ cup grapeseed oil
½ cup agave nectar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup cranberries, frozen
½ cup walnuts, chopped

  1. In a medium bowl combine coconut flour, salt and baking soda
  2. In a large bowl blend eggs, grapeseed oil, agave and vanilla
  3. Blend dry ingredients into wet, then fold in cranberries and walnuts
  4. Pour batter into (2) greased 6.5 X 4 inch loaf pans
  5. Bake at 350° for 35 minutes
  6. Cool and serve

Chocolate Cream Pie Link!!!

http://www.elanaspantry.com/chocolate-cream-pie/print/

 

For the sweet potato apple bake I just peeled and cut up about 6 SMALL sweet potatoes, 2 crisp apples and put them in a glass baking dish with a lid. I sprinkled on some cinnamon,grape-seed oil and chopped pecans on top(about two handfuls). I then drizzled on maple syrup and baked for about 35 minutes at a 350 degree oven. Yum!!!!

About christybutch

Hi! I am Christy Butch. Married to Garrett Butch and the mother of two boys, Collin and Ryan. I am the Co-Founder of Maximum Potential, a company that teaches people how to work with autistic children. I am also a Strength Coach CF-L1 Instructor and Olympic Lift Coach as well as Nutrition Certified. This blog is about the journey to drastically change my families diet to better our immediate and long term health. I am excited to see what lies in store for us, especially my 7 year old who is autistic.We are now following a diet of meat.vegetables.nuts,seeds,little starch and little sugar.
This entry was posted in Bread, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

