Week 1 Update and Mom’s dinner

We are completing week one of our transformation to this grain free, dairy free,Paleo like diet. We have some things to work on but all in all this was a fantastic week. Garrett and I remained almost 100% gluten and very close to grain  free. Only a couple condiments threw us off the 100% in remaining gluten free and we had some gluten free beer one night which include rice (grains) but other than that we did great and REALLY enjoyed all our food. The kids are doing awesome. I need to mention that about two weeks before getting certified by Robb Wolf , CrossFit Nutriton  and starting this way of eating….I took all vegetable oils and peanut butter out of their diet so they have had some large changes. No potato chips, baked frozen fries, corn chips, peanut butter crackers ect. All of this was always natural, organic, gluten free but I really felt the need to subtract these things out. I am seeing the benefits of this in Collin (age 7 with autism). His “belly” is not as bloated and he is appearing more focused. Whew!!!

I have  dropped weight. I agree with Robb Wolf that you should throw out the scale and I am going to learn to use calipers to determine our body fat throughout the process, but I have jumped on the scale just to see what’s up! I feel great. I wake up everyday on my own shortly after 5am and I am not tired. I am not CrossFitting right now due to a shoulder cuff tear/problem AND plantar fasciitis  (2 more reasons to start this way of eating) but I can’t wait to start again and see the results.

My Mom started eating this way about a week ago too. She dropped 6 lbs the first week. She works out 3 plus times a week with a trainer in her home town in South Carolina.

Here is her dinner from last night. It looks fabulous! Way to go Mom!

Salmon dill burgers with tomatoes, squash, and YES avocados!!!

About christybutch

Hi! I am Christy Butch. Married to Garrett Butch and the mother of two boys, Collin and Ryan. I am the Co-Founder of Maximum Potential, a company that teaches people how to work with autistic children. I am also a Strength Coach CF-L1 Instructor and Olympic Lift Coach as well as Nutrition Certified. This blog is about the journey to drastically change my families diet to better our immediate and long term health. I am excited to see what lies in store for us, especially my 7 year old who is autistic.We are now following a diet of meat.vegetables.nuts,seeds,little starch and little sugar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 1 Update and Mom’s dinner

  1. Sally says:

    I’m so excited to find your site! I saw the link you left in the comments on http://www.everydaypaleo.com
    I too have 2 young kids – my son is 7 also and is diagnosed PDD-NOS on the autism spectrum. My daugther is 4yrs. I attened Robb’s certification in Southern California last month- isn’t he awesome!? It is nice to see other momther’s trying to make a change in their children’s lives. I struggle with all the outside influences and seeing that my kids haven’t been gluten & dairy free until now- it has taken some adjusting for them. My husband and I have been following Mark Sisson’s “The Primal Blueprint” and his website http://www.marksdailyapple.com for about 4 months now and have never felt better. Making the bigger step to Paleo now and have also recruited parents and in-laws to jump on board. Thanksgiving is going to be Paleo this year and I couldn’t be more excited!Just thought I’d say hello and thanks for the blog!

  2. Sally says:

    I forgot to mention- I’m also a CrossFitter- here in Northern CA, near Sacramento at http://www.crossfitgenesis.com

  3. christybutch says:

    Hey Sally,

    So GREAT to hear all that good new. I agree, it can be an adjustment for the kids. I recently took vegetable oils, and peanut butter out of my kids diets(before getting certified) and there was about three days of asking for peanut butter crackers and potato chips but then they stopped. they really adjust pretty well.

    I am excited too about out T-giving. We are including some sweet potato, and agave nectar so i would not say we are 100% Paleo BUT no grains no dairy. i can’t wait.

    Please continue to share updates and recipes and good news with me. I LOVE it.

    Kudos to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

