Breakfast Bars (These are AWESOME!) and Update

Breakfast Bars from Elana's Pantry

I made these breakfast bars yesterday (Wedenesday November 19,2009) and they are delicious. I have had more people than just my family try them and they have gotten great reviews. I did not have any sliced almonds so I subbed pistacious and I put in a few dried cranberries since I was short on raisins but I won’t use THOSE cranberries anymore because they were dried with sugar.It really won’t make a difference to take them out I don’t think.Check them out at     http://www.elanaspantry.com/breakfast-bars/.

The week is going really well. Last night I used no recipes but cooked some Wild Caught Alaskan Salmon form Harry’s. I covered it with grape-seed oil (I love this oil) and rosemary and garlic and baked it. I made Cauliflower Mash to go along with it and we had some green salad with balsamic vinaigrettes.

The kids ate earlier than we did. They had chicken tenders. I buy Organic Gluten Free Chicken Tenders or Nuggets and they enjoy thise and Ryan does not ask to go to Chick Fil A anymore. Ryan eats them with Ken’s Honey Mustard Dressing which is gluten free and Collin uses organic catsup (gf also). The chicken I buy has breading made with corn and rice products so this is something I am going to work on but for now, those are the lesser of the evils for the gut and they are gluten free at least. I am going to try making them with almond meal!

Later the boys wanted popcorn. They are popcorn freaks and I am happy to say they have not had any in about a week. I really did not have a good substitute so they shared some Newman’s all natural plain popcorn.I was fine with that but would really like to get all of the corn out of their diets, especially Collin’s. Many kids with autism have corn and soy taken out of their diets along with the gluten and casein and see better results.

I feel grat eating this way. I have more energy although I am not CrossFitting at this time due to a couple injuries (another reason to start this diet) but I wake up on my own every morning between 5 and 6 with no alarm. That indicates I have gotten enough rest. Garrett (husband) says he feels better as well. His energy was low at  CrossFit so we looked at what he ate and he was VERY LOW on carbs which can accelerate fat loss but may make his performance change a little. BUT after body fat decreases, performance can skyrocket.

I agree with Robb Wolf and you should throw out your scale and go by other measures like how you look, feel. perform. How your triglycerides are,blood pressure levels and levels of disease. HOWEVER, I did hop on the scale to see what was up. I was down 3lbs for this week so far. I DO know my body fat % and that is what I am going to measure in  the future as well as how I feel and perform and how my injuries are healing.. Anyway for this week, so far so good!

About christybutch

Hi! I am Christy Butch. Married to Garrett Butch and the mother of two boys, Collin and Ryan. I am the Co-Founder of Maximum Potential, a company that teaches people how to work with autistic children. I am also a Strength Coach CF-L1 Instructor and Olympic Lift Coach as well as Nutrition Certified. This blog is about the journey to drastically change my families diet to better our immediate and long term health. I am excited to see what lies in store for us, especially my 7 year old who is autistic.We are now following a diet of meat.vegetables.nuts,seeds,little starch and little sugar.
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

